Mongan Commonwealth Fund Fellowship Program in Minority Health Policy (formerly The Commonwealth Fund/Harvard University Fellowship in Minority Health Policy)

Achieving a high-performance health care system requires dedicated physician-leaders capable of transforming care delivery and promoting policies and practices that improve access to high-quality care for vulnerable populations, including racial and ethnic minorities and economically disadvantaged groups. Since 1996, the Mongan Commonwealth Fund Fellowship Program in Minority Health Policy has played an important role in developing such leaders.

Based at Harvard Medical School under the direction of Joan Reede, M.D., Dean for Diversity and Community Partnership, the year-long fellowship offers intensive study in health policy, public health, and management for physicians committed to transforming health care delivery systems for vulnerable populations. Under the program, fellows complete academic work leading to a master of public health degree at the Harvard School of Public Health, or a master of public administration degree at the Harvard Kennedy School of Government. Fellows also participate in leadership forums and seminars with nationally recognized leaders in health care delivery systems, minority health, and public policy.

Selected fellows can participate in an optional second year of practicum experience to supplement academic and leadership development training with practical experience in a health care delivery system setting, a federal or state agency, or a policy-oriented institution. The practicum is a competitive program, with a variable number of placements available each year.

For more information about the fellowship and how to apply, please visit:

Also available is an archived webinar from October 14, 2014, featuring Pamela Riley, M.D., assistant vice president of health delivery system reform at The Commonwealth Fund, Joan Reede, M.D., dean for diversity and community partnership at Harvard Medical School, and 2007–08 fellow Mallory Williams, M.D., M.P.H., vice chair of the Acute Care Surgery Committee on Trauma for the State of Ohio.  

Download the program brochure (PDF).