Skip to main content

Advanced Search

Advanced Search

Current Filters

Filter your query

Publication Types



Commonwealth Fund Task Force on the Future of Payment and Delivery System Reform

For more than a decade, health care delivery systems, payers, and policymakers have engaged in accelerated testing, piloting, and implementing changes to how health care is organized, structured, and paid for. In May 2019, the Commonwealth Fund established a new initiative, the Task Force on the Future of Payment and Delivery System Reform, to take a step back, synthesize what we have learned from these experiments, and make recommendations on how we can achieve improved quality and greater efficiency from delivery system reform efforts. An 18-month initiative, the Task Force will incorporate evidence and expert opinion to develop and release recommendations to change the payment and delivery of health care to improve system performance. It will explore public and private policies and practices that will lead to those improvements. Task Force recommendations will be released by December 2020.  

The Task Force, chaired by Gregg Meyer, M.D., Chief Clinical Officer of Partners Healthcare, includes 18 members that represent a broad array of interests and experience. The members are listed below:

Gregg Meyer, M.D., M.Sc.

Chair of the Task Force
Chief Clinical Officer
Partners HealthCare System

Mary Naylor, Ph.D., R.N., FAAN

NewCourtland Center for Transitions and Health


Toyin Ajayi, M.D., M.Phil.

Chief Health Officer & Co-Founder
Cityblock Health


Debra Ness, M.S.

National Partnership for Women & Families


Mandy Cohen, M.D., M.P.H.

North Carolina Department of Health and Human Services

David Pryor, M.D.

Executive Vice President & Chief Clinical Officer


Patrick Conway, M.D.

President & CEO
Blue Cross Blue Shield of North Carolina


Kyu Rhee, M.D., M.P.P.

Vice President & Chief Health Officer
IBM Corporation and IBM Watson Health


Karen Dale, R.N., M.S.N.

Market President
AmeriHealth Caritas DC

Wayne Riley, M.D., M.P.H., M.B.A., MACP

State University of New York (SUNY) Health Science Center at Brooklyn & Downstate Medical Center

Julian Harris, M.D., M.B.A.


Craig Samitt, M.D., M.B.A.

President & CEO
Blue Cross Blue Shield of Minnesota

Vivian Lee, M.D., Ph.D., M.B.A.

President, Health Platforms
Verily Life Sciences

Mary Wakefield, Ph.D., R.N.

Visiting Professor
The University of Texas at Austin &
Georgetown University

Mark McClellan, M.D., Ph.D.

Robert J. Margolis Professor
Duke University
Duke-Margolis Center for Health Policy

Alan Weil, J.D., M.P.P.

Health Affairs

Farzad Mostashari, M.D., Sc.M.


Gail Wilensky, Ph.D.

Economist & Senior Fellow
Project HOPE