Skip to main content

Advanced Search

Advanced Search

Current Filters

Filter your query

Publication Types



Vincent Mor

Professor and Chair<br />Department of Community Health, Brown Medical School


Dr. Vincent Mor is chair of the department of community health at the Brown University School of Medicine and formerly served as the director of the Brown University Center for Gerontology and Health Care Research. Dr. Mor has been on the faculty of the Department of Community Health since 1981 as a research assistant professor, becoming tenured in 1987. Together with Professor Alan Morrison, Dr. Mor began the department's graduate program in 1986 and directed it after Dr. Morrison's death in the early 1990's until becoming chair.

Dr. Mor has been principal investigator of more than 20 NIH-funded grants as well as awards from the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation, The Commonwealth Fund, and other private foundations. For these project, Dr. Mor merged multiple data sources to examine the clinical, individual, organizational, and health system factors associated with variation in use of health services and the outcomes frail and chronically ill persons experience.

Dr. Mor was one of the authors of the Congressionally mandated Minimum Data Set (MDS) for Nursing Home Resident Assessment which was designed to improve the quality of care nursing home residents receive by providing all staff with systematic, valid and reliable clinical information that can be combined with "best practices" and care guidelines to direct the kinds of care patients should receive. Dr. Mor has conducted extensive research on the reliability and validity of the MDS data as used in the field and has pioneered the use of these data to characterize nursing home residents' physical and psycho-social outcomes. Dr. Mor tested the effect of state and federal policies on outcomes by merging MDS data with Medicare claims, market factors and state policies. Based upon analyses of these integrated, longitudinal data, Dr. Mor has been a tireless advocate for improved quality in long term care and served as the executive director of the National Commission for Quality Long Term Care.